Onyx Webb: Book Six: Episodes 16, 17, & 18 – a Review

In episodes 16, 17, and 18 of the Onyx Webb series, family secrets are revealed as is the identity of a serial killer. People’s pasts are beginning to catch up with them and so are the terrible things they have done.

The book opens with the introduction of a new character, Newt Drystad. An autistic savant, he is just a child. An autistic savant is someone who has autism but also has extraordinary skills not exhibited by most people. Newt is a genius at math, but even more impressive—to me—is his fascination with serial killers, a fascination that makes him come alive.

Pipi Esperanza is also a new character. She is with the FBI’s Violent Criminal Apprehension Program and has been receiving letters from Newt since he was eight years old. His age would have immediately caught my attention. I mean, how many eight-year-olds out there write to the FBI? How many are even intelligent enough to do so?

The murders of people in the cove, even though almost all of the victims were terminally ill or were people society didn’t really want, got the attention of Clay Daniels III, the new sheriff in town. The last victims though were just kids, two of them. Clay decided to call in the FBI. I’m not sure if this was a wise decision for Clay or not.

Onyx Webb, pinterest

When we first met Onyx, she was just a little girl. Now, if she were still alive, she would be an old woman. The things she has experienced both in life and in death have made her ruthless. And the fact that she killed those last two kids really haunts her.

The Onyx Webb series is fantastic in every way possible. The combination of real life events and people with a story that centers around the ghost Onyx Webb is fascinating and addictive. The uncertainty of what is going to happen next keeps you glued to each and every page. My only complaint is that one wants to read the books so fast that at times exactly what happens is hard to remember. If that happens though, you just get to enjoy the book for a second or third time to get everything straight in your mind.

Like the spiders’ web on the cover of the book, all of the events are woven together in an intricate web of lies and deceit. Once you become entangled in this web, it is nearly impossible to extricate yourself from it.

I was sent a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review. If you would like your own copy of the sixth book in this unputdownable series, I have provided an Amazon link below.

Amazon link: Onyx Webb: Book Six: Episodes 16, 17. & 18

reading, the-bookworm.net

Recommended Articles:

Richard Fenton & Andrea Waltz Interview – Autistic Savants, Dates, & the Spider and the Fly Poem

Onyx Webb: Book One: Episodes 1, 2, & 3 – a Review

Onyx Webb: Book Two: Episodes 4, 5, & 6 – a Review

Onyx Webb: Book Three: Episodes 7, 8, & 9 – a Review

Onyx Webb: Book Four: Episodes 10, 11, & 12 – a Review

Onyx Webb: Book Five: Episodes 13, 14, & 15 – a Review

fantasy, imagination, pixabay

Favorite Sentences:
For reasons beyond anyone’s understanding, Newt’s fascination with serial killers had unlocked his mind and his body.

Ghosts do not make tears when they cry.

Everything appeared grey and was covered in a light mist, and Koda felt shivers of cold running through him—as if he’d just stepped into a walk-in refrigerator, the kind you’d find in the kitchen of a restaurant.

“When a spider spins a classic spiral-orb web, it starts from the middle and works its way out, very much like the way most serial killers start near where they live and move outward.”

New Words Learned:
autistic savant – someone who has autism but also has extraordinary skills not exhibited by most people

estuary – that part of the mouth or lower course of a river in which the river’s current meets the sea’s tide

hypoxia– deficiency in the amount of oxygen delivered to the body tissues

misnomer – a misapplied or inappropriate name or designation

pillock – (Brit, slang) a stupid or annoying person

schlep – to drag or lug (oneself or an object) with difficulty

About the Authors:
Richard and Andrea have been in love with creating stories together since they met almost twenty years ago and even spent some time in Hollywood writing screenplays, being represented by the producer of Breakfast at Tiffany’s. Their favorite genres are suspense, thriller, crime and anything of a paranormal nature which is how Onyx Webb turned into a mash-up of all their favorites!

Richard Fenton & Andrea Waltz are a married writing team. Most well known for their business fables, they’re professional speakers who teach audiences how to overcome fear of failure and rejection.  The Onyx Webb Series is their first serious dive into fiction.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *